Hiking and thinking….

Without a doubt I’m happiest when I’m away from the city.  Away from the pavement.  Away from the stress of constantly being surrounded by crowds.  Away from smelling fast food in the air.   Away from the constant background noise of sirens, traffic and construction.  In place of those I choose dirt roads or trails.  I choose quiet.  I choose having only the company of my wife.   I choose the smell of clean air, pinon pine and wildflowers on the wind.  I’m sure lots of folks do, or would do, the same when given the chance.  But that doesn’t mean that I want a disconnect from the goings on around me.  Quite the contrary, it seems to have made me more aware of my stances on many topics.  It’s not necessarily that my views have changed.  More than likely it’s just that, as I feel more and more independent and free, the more I take note of how easily independence and freedom can be infringed upon.  Funny how the frustrations of society can drive me nuts and yet as I hike or drive a backroad I catch myself contemplating the issue of the day and wondering how to make sense of it all.  Can I combine my love of the outdoors and freedom with my love and concern for my country and way of life on a blog?  Maybe… maybe not.  I’ll even throw in some hot sports opinions on occasion.   If you’ve stumbled onto this site I hope you’ll put in your two cents even if you disagree.

Leave a Reply

